# The Centre for Rupert's Land Studies at the University of Winnipeg: Organization and Structure Revised, updated, and approved, May 2013.

1. Policies. The Centre for Rupert's Land Studies (hereafter called the Centre) operates in accordance with The University of Winnipeg's Policies and Guidelines for Institutes and Centres. As a University Centre it is organizationally part of the University and subject to its management and control. For administrative purposes it comes directly under the jurisdiction of the Vice-President (Academic), or may be attached to a division reporting to the Vice-President (Academic).

#### 2. Director

The overall management and operations of the Centre are the responsibility of the Director. Normally the Director shall be a full-time member of the academic staff of The University of Winnipeg, appointed by the Vice-President (Academic) after advice from the Advisory Council. The Director reports to the Vice-President (Academic).

## 3. Advisory Council

- 3.1 The Centre has an Advisory Council, which helps to guide the organization, activities, and plans of the Centre and assists the Director. Members of the Advisory Council are appointed by the Vice-President (Academic) upon recommendation of the Director.
- 3.2 Three members of the Advisory Council comprise a Nominations Committee that guides the process of selecting incoming Council members (see Section 3.5).
- 3.3 The Advisory Council is constituted of 12 current voting members of the Centre for Rupert's Land Studies, as follows:
  - a. Four members from The University of Winnipeg academic community.
  - b. Four members from outside The University of Winnipeg, who are affiliated with institutions and organizations concerned with areas of interest to the Centre. It is understood that these members do not represent or speak for their organizations in undertaking Council service although they help foster good relations with those entities.
  - c. Four members elected by the membership of the Centre (see below), at least one of whom resides or lives in close proximity to Winnipeg so as to be able to attend meetings of the Advisory Council in person.
- 3.4 Members of the Advisory Council are appointed for four-year terms, which may be renewed. See Appendix for list of current Council members by category of their membership.

### 3.5 Nomination of Advisory Council

- 3.5.1 The Nominations Committee consists of three members, one from each of the three categories of Council members.
- 3.5.2 In order to allow for continued input from the membership, four members of the Advisory Council are elected by the general membership of the Centre. Nominations for these positions, when openings occur, will be prepared by the Nominations Committee, which will invite input from the membership at its biennial meetings and/or via the *Rupert's Land Newsletter* to fill vacancies. Votes by current members will be solicited through a ballot in the Centre's Newsletter, with a mail-in vote taken, or at the next biennial general members' meeting, whichever comes first.

## 3.6 Advisory Council Meetings

- 3.6.1 Meetings of the Advisory Council are held at least once a year. Other meetings may be called by the Director or at the request of any three members of the Advisory Council.
- 3.6.2 The Director or his/her designate chairs the meetings of the Advisory Council.

## **4. Advisory Council Executive Committee**

- 4.1 The Advisory Council selects from among its members an Executive Committee consisting of the Director and three Council members. The Treasurer (see Section 7.2) is also a member of the Executive Committee.
- 4.2 The Executive Committee may meet from time to time at the call of the Director

### **5.** Committees

- 5.1 Committees are formed as necessary by the Director, with the advice of the Advisory Council. They may include other CRLS members besides those on the Council, or non-members, where their services are needed and appropriate.
- 5.2 Current committees include, but are not limited to:

Biennial Colloquium Committee, and its various subcommittees

Harington Fellowship Selection Committee

Planning and Development Committee

## 6. CRLS Membership

- 6.1 An important and special aspect of the Centre is its diverse and committed membership, which the Centre has built up and maintains.
- 6.2 Membership in the Centre is open to any person interested in the activities of the Centre, subject to such regulations as the Advisory Council may adopt.
- 6.3 Members pay an annual fee, which is determined by the Advisory Council. Payment of the annual fee entitles members to receive the *Rupert's Land Newsletter*, notices of meetings and colloquia, publication offers, and other circular information and invitations issued to members during that year.
- 6.4 A General Meeting of the Centre membership is held every two years, to coincide with the biennial Colloquium of the Centre.

#### 7. Finances

- 7.1 Collection of membership dues and maintenance of Centre financial records are the responsibility of the Centre. Financial Services at the University of Winnipeg, and the University of Winnipeg Foundation, as administrators of the various accounts that hold the Centre's assets, maintain and manage those accounts and report regularly on them to the Centre.
- 7.2 The Executive Committee appoints a Treasurer from among the membership of the Centre. The Treasurer reports annually to the Advisory Council and the membership on income from membership dues, donations, and other sources, on expenditures, on the status of Centre accounts, and on other financial matters.

# Appendix

# **CRLS Advisory Council Members, by category**

# **University of Winnipeg members**

Danny Blair, Department of Geography.

Roland Bohr, Department of History.

Paul DePasquale, Department of English.

Val McKinley, Department of Anthropology.

# **CRLS** Membership representatives

Harry W. Duckworth, Winnipeg.

Patricia Harms, Brandon University.

Patricia McCormack, Edmonton.

Carolyn Podruchny, Toronto.

# Affiliated members, with their affiliations

Julie Pelletier, Chair Department of Indigenous Studies, UW

Scott Stephen, Parks Canada

Diane Haglund, United Church Archives, Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario.

Judith Hudson Beattie, Keeper HBC-Archives, retired