The University of Winnipeg



University of Winnipeg Fall Convocation Honours Graduates and Award Winners

WINNIPEG — Graduation is a time for celebrating the outstanding achievements of University of Winnipeg students. Chancellor H. Sanford Riley, President Constance Rooke, the Board of Regents, and members of the University Senate invite family, friends, and the public to honour the graduating class of the seventy-fourth convocation.

The entire University community extends congratulations to the graduates as they join the more than 30,000 University of Winnipeg alumni around the world.

The University of Winnipeg’s Fall Convocation takes place on Sunday, October 20 at 2 p.m. at the University’s Duckworth Centre (Spence at Ellice) and is open to the public. About 230 graduates will receive degrees in arts, science, education, theology, and master’s programs.

University of Winnipeg Chancellor H. Sanford Riley will provide the address to the graduands.

Deputy Minister of National Defence Margaret Bloodworth* (Class of ’70) will be named a distinguished alumna of the University of Winnipeg.

Other award winners include:
Ken W. McCluskey*, Professor of Education, will receive the Clarence Atchison Award for Community Service. The Clarence Atchison Award for Community Service was established by Investors Group in honour of their former President and Vice-Chair, Clarence E. Atchison. Together with an impressive record of business accomplishments, Dr. Atchison devoted many hours to community and social service in Winnipeg, serving on many boards and advisory councils. He was a long-time member of the University of Winnipeg Board of Regents, acting as Chair from 1968 to 1970. The award is given to a University faculty or staff member to recognize the contribution given of their time and expertise to service to the community.

Edward Cloutis*, Associate Professor of Geography and Director of the Centre of Forest Inter-Disciplinary Research (C-FIR), will be awarded the Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship. The Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship was established by Erica and Arnold Rogers, friends of the University of Winnipeg. Dr. Rogers was a medical doctor who, together with his wife Erica, valued the contribution by faculty members to research and scholarship. All members of the University faculty, many of whom have received national and international recognition for excellence in the research community, are eligible.


For more information, please contactKatherine Unruh, University Relations, at 782-3279 (cel) Ms. Unruh will be available Sunday in the Media Conference Room (2D16), 2nd Floor of the Duckworth Centre.